Victor Hugo

Les amoureux de littérature peuvent marcher sur les pas de l’un des plus grands auteurs du 19e siècle.

En effet, le romancier et poète français Victor Hugo a passé 15 ans en exil à Guernesey entre 1855 et 1870, et l’île a inspiré plusieurs de ses chefs-d’œuvre, notamment Les Misérables et Les Travailleurs de la mer.

Hugo est tombé sous le charme de Guernesey et sa maison sur l’ile, Hauteville House, donne au public la chance de découvrir son cadre de vie, et de visiter le lieu où il a composé certains de ses plus célèbres romans et poèmes.

Son cabinet de travail, la « chambre de cristal » est au troisième et dernier étage de cette maison éclectique et a une vue panoramique sur la capitale de St Peter Port, sans cesse changeante, sur la mer et au loin sur sa patrie, la France.

Mais ce n’est pas seulement dans cette maison unique au cœur de l’île que vous pouvez emboîter le pas à l’un des écrivains les plus controversés et les plus fascinants de son époque.

Vous pouvez par exemple vous baigner là où il nageait dans l’eau claire de la baie de Havelet, emprunter son sentier favori le long de la côte jusqu’à la baie de Fermain ou encore aller vous promener jusqu’à l’une des plus jolies baies de l’île, Moulin Huet. Marchez jusqu’au bout du promontoire à tous vents de Pleinmont, qui donne une vue époustouflante sur le phare de Hanois, puis continuez en suivant la côte ouest sur toute sa longueur pour arriver à Port Soif, une partie du littoral de l’île que le romancier affectionnait particulièrement et qui l’a beaucoup inspiré.

Il n’est pas difficile de voir pourquoi Hugo était captivé par ces îles. On se souvient de Victor Hugo pour son œuvre, mais sa vie privée était tout aussi fascinante.

Il avait épousé son amie d’enfance, Adèle Foucher, et ils eurent cinq enfants, mais il eut aussi de nombreuses maîtresses au cours de sa vie, notamment l’actrice française Juliette Drouet.

Elle est devenue sa secrétaire et sa compagne de voyage, et cette relation a duré 50 ans. Elle a sacrifié sa carrière pour suivre l’amour de sa vie à Guernesey où Hugo et sa famille vivaient en exil. Cette femme est souvent mentionnée dans la biographie de Victor Hugo, et des milliers de lettres échangées entre eux ont été enregistrées.

On dit qu’ils se rencontraient en secret au sommet de Victoria Tower. Bâtie pour commémorer la visite de la reine Victoria et du prince Albert sur l’île, cette tour donne une vue exceptionnelle sur St Peter Port. Si vous regardez bien, vous trouverez peut-être leurs initiales, VH et JD, gravées quelque part sur la face intérieure des murs en granite.

Hugo a entamé, terminé ou publié la majorité de ses œuvres les plus célèbres durant son séjour ici, notamment Les Contemplations (1856), Les Misérables (1862), La Légende des siècles (1877), William Shakespeare (1864), Les Chansons des rues et des bois (1865), Les Travailleurs de la mer (1866), L'Homme qui rit (1869), et Quatre-Vingt-Treize (1874)

Hauteville House

La Ville de Paris assure l’entretien des deux maisons où Victor Hugo a vécu le plus longtemps : l’Hôtel de Rohan-Guéménée sur la place des Vosges à Paris, où il a loué un appartement de 280 mètres carrés au deuxième étage pendant 16 ans (de 1832 à 1848) et Hauteville House sur l’île de Guernesey, où il a vécu en exil pendant 15 ans (de 1856 à 1870).

En 1851 le poète banni a quitté la France pour un exil qui allait durer 19 ans. D’abord chassé de Belgique puis de Jersey, Hugo est enfin arrivé à Guernesey en 1855.

Le 16 mai 1856, grâce au produit de la vente de son recueil de poèmes Les Contemplations, Victor Hugo achète Hauteville House à Guernesey, une grande maison blanche avec un jardin dominant la mer. Collectionneur enthousiaste de meubles d’occasion et de bric-à-brac, il ramène une profusion de coffres, crédences, tapis, miroirs, couverts, figurines et objets divers de ses excursions sur l’île. Il applique son imagination sans bornes à la transformation de la maison, passant des mois à superviser de grands travaux « sur un modèle médiéval » qui donnent à la demeure une force intérieure et un certain mystère, et en ont fait un lieu unique. Hugo a vécu à Hauteville House jusqu’en 1870, date de son retour en France après la chute du Second Empire, mais il est revenu y passer un an en 1872-73, une semaine en 1875 et quatre mois en 1878.

En mars 1927, l’année du centenaire du mouvement Romantique, les descendants de l’écrivain, Jeanne, Jean, Marguerite et François, offert la maison en donation à la Ville de Paris.

Hauteville House a été préservée telle que l’écrivain l’a laissée. Le génie créatif de Victor Hugo se reflète dans l’incroyable richesse de la décoration. Pour citer Charles Hugo, la maison est un « Autographe à trois étages, un poème en plusieurs chambres ».
Hauteville House a un superbe jardin, qui est inclus dans la visite de la maison

GUERNESEY VUE PAR VICTOR HUGO

Victor Hugo a été immédiatement captivé par Guernesey et frappé par la sévérité de ses falaises et la douceur des paysages à l’intérieur des terres. Il appréciait à la fois « le souffle de l’océan » et « le souffle des fleurs ». Il décida d’exprimer sa gratitude envers l’île dans la dédicace de son célèbre roman, Les Travailleurs de la mer, « Je dédie ce livre au rocher d'hospitalité et de liberté, à ce coin de vieille terre normande où vit le noble petit peuple de la mer, à l'île de Guernesey, sévère et douce... »

Hugo décrivit les îles Anglo-normandes comme des « fragments de France tombés dans la mer et ramassés par l’Angleterre ». C’est cette fusion de culture française et britannique qui rend Guernesey unique, et son patrimoine, ses paysages et ses habitants ont laissé une impression durable à l’auteur. Tous ceux qui retracent ses pas partiront aussi inspirés que le grand auteur il y a plus de 150 ans.

Le blogger de voyage très suivi Gareth Huw Davies s’est rendu à Guernesey pour en savoir plus sur la période que Victor Hugo passa sur l’île. Pour en savoir plus, suivez ce lien : Blog de Gareth Huw Davies. Hauteville House et Guernesey figurent également dans un reportage voyage publié dans The Telegraph Online.

Keep in touch

GET ALL THE LATEST NEWS & OFFERS STRAIGHT TO YOUR INBOX!

By pressing subscribe you agree to be contacted by us according to our privacy policy

Victor Hugo

Literary lovers can walk in the footsteps of one of the most celebrated authors of the 19th century.

French author and poet Victor Hugo spent 15 years in exile in Guernsey from 1855 and the island provided the inspiration for many of his fine works, including Les Miserables and Toilers of the Sea.

Hugo fell in love with Guernsey and his island home, Hauteville House, offers fans a chance to experience how he lived - and see where he wrote some of his most famous books and poems.

His writing room, the Crystal Room, is at the top of the eclectic house and has panoramic views across the ever-changing capital St Peter Port, out to sea and across to his homeland, France.

But it isn't just his unique home in the heart of the island where you can walk the paths of one of the most controversial and fascinating writers of his time.

Take a dip where he swam in the clear waters of Havelet Bay, walk his favourite coastal path to Fermain Bay or take a stroll down to one of the island's prettiest bays Moulin Huet. Walk out to the exposed headland at Pleinmont with breath-taking views across to the Hanois Lighthouse and continue on up the length of the west coast to Port Soif, a favourite stretch of the island's coastline which provided inspiration for the writer.

It is not hard to see why Hugo was captivated by the islands.

While the writer is remembered for his life's works, his private life was equally fascinating.

Although married to childhood friend Adèle Foucher - they had five children together - he had a number of lovers throughout his life, most notably French actress Juliette Drouet.

She became his secretary and travelling companion, a relationship that lasted 50 years, and sacrificed her career to follow the love of her life to Guernsey when he and his family were exiled. She is mentioned often in the biography of Victor Hugo and thousands of letters between the pair have been recorded.

It is said that they secretly met at the top of Victoria Tower. Built to commemorate a visit to the island by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, it offers unparalleled views across St Peter Port. If you look closely you might find their initials - VH and JD - which were etched somewhere into its interior granite walls.

Hugo began, completed or published the majority of the works for which he is best known whilst living here, in particular 'Les Contemplations' (1856), 'Les Misérables' (1862), 'La Legende des siecles' (1877), 'William Shakespeare' (1864), 'Les Chansons des rues et des bois' (1865), 'Les Travailleurs de la mer' (1866), 'L'Homme qui rit' (1869), and 'Quatre-Vingt-Treize' (1874).

Hauteville House

The City of Paris preserves the two houses where Victor Hugo lived the longest: the Hôtel de Rohan-Guéménée in Place des Vosges in Paris, where for 16 years (from 1832 to 1848) he rented a 280 square-metre apartment on the second floor, and Hauteville House on the island of Guernsey, where he lived in exile for 15 years (from 1856 to 1870).

In 1851 the banned poet left France for an exile which would last 19 years, and after unsuccessful attempts at refuge in Brussels and Jersey, Hugo arrived on the shores of Guernsey in 1855.

On 16 May 1856, with the proceeds from his successful collection of poems Les Contemplations, Victor Hugo purchased Hauteville House in Guernsey; a large white building with a garden overlooking the sea. An enthusiastic collector of second-hand furniture and bric-à-brac, he brought back a profusion of chests, sideboards, carpets, mirrors, crockery, figurines and other objects from his excursions around the island. He put his boundless imagination to work on the house, spending months overseeing a major conversion on a medieval pattern, which gave this unique building an inner force and mystery. Hugo lived in Hauteville House until 1870, when he returned to France after the fall of the Second Empire, but he returned again for a year in 1872-73, for a week in 1875 and for four months in 1878.

In March 1927, the centenary year of the Romantic Movement, the house was donated to the City of Paris by the writer’s descendants Jeanne, Jean, Marguerite and François.

Victor Hugo's garden in Guernsey

Hauteville House has been preserved exactly as it was. Hugo's abundant creativity is displayed in the astonishing richness of its decoration. As Charles Hugo put it, the house is "a veritable three-storey autograph, a poem in several rooms".

Hauteville House has some wonderful gardens which are included on a visit to the house.

Hugo's Guernsey

Victor Hugo was immediately captivated by Guernsey: he was struck by the harshness of its cliffs and the gentleness of the inland scenery. He appreciated both 'the breath of the ocean' and 'the breath of the flowers'. He was led to express his gratitude to the island in the dedication of his famous novel Les Travailleurs de la mer, “I dedicate this book to the rock of hospitality, to this corner of old Norman land where resides the noble little people of the sea, to the Island of Guernsey, severe and yet gentle...”.

Hugo described the Channel Islands as "fragments of France which fell into the sea and were gathered up by England". It is that fusion of French and British culture that makes Guernsey so unique and its heritage, scenery and people left a lasting impression on the author. Any visitor who follows his well trodden path will leave feeling as inspired as he did over 150 years ago.

Popular travel blogger, Gareth Huw Davies, visited Guernsey to find out more about Victor Hugo's time in the island. To read more follow this link: Gareth Huw Davies blog. Hauteville House and Guernsey are also featured as part of a travel feature in The Telegraph Online.

Victor Hugo Guided Walks

There are 3 local accredited walking guides who offer walks based on Victor Hugo's life in Guernsey.

Walk in Victor Hugo's Footsteps

Enjoy this walk around the streets of St Peter Port, hear about Victor Hugo's exile here, finishing outside his amazing house in Hauteville where he completed his masterpiece Les Miserables. This walk is led by gold accredited guide Gill Girard.

Click here for more information about this walk, which is part of the 2015 Channel Islands Heritage Festival.

My Affair with Victor Hugo

Victor Hugo was resident in Guernsey 1855-1870. This tour around St Peter Port follows his steps and we learn more about him, his personality, influences and relationships.
Contact Carla Bauer on 07781 127422 or 01481 723276. Alternatively, email Starts at the Guernsey Information Centre and ends at Hauteville House.

Victor Hugo's Exile in Guernsey

A guided walk, in either French or English, led by Agnès Perry which takes in the history and sights of 19th century St Peter Port.
Contact Agnès on 07781 443321 or email

For further information please contact the Guernsey Information Centre

Make the most of your visit to Guernsey

Order your brochure here!

Start planning your #GreatThings break today!

Click here!

Best UK Port of Call for Cruise Liners

Guernsey has been voted as the best UK Port of Call for Cruise Liners at the Cruise Critic Editors’ Picks Awards

Find out more!

Spooky Guernsey

Legends and myths, ghost walks and costume parties - October in Guernsey is spooktacular!

Tricks and Treats!

Get Inspired!

Discover more about our islands by reading our informative blogs!

Read our Blogs

Island Hopping

Enjoy the best of our Bailiwick with visits to our neighbours.

Find out more!

Tasty Walks

Enjoy two of Guernsey's best aspects: Great food and stunning scenery.

Find out more!